Skip to main content


Daniel T. Schwartz

Faculty Photo

Boeing-Sutter Endowed Professor
Chemical Engineering

Adjunct Professor
Materials Science & Engineering

Clean Energy Institute


Schwartz is the Boeing-Sutter Professor of Chemical Engineering and the founding director of the UW Clean Energy Institute (CEI). Established with funding from the state of Washington in 2013, CEI supports the advancement of next-generation solar energy and battery materials and devices, as well as their integration with systems and the grid. His research explores transport and reaction in electrochemical systems, including the performance of complex electrodes used in energy storage and conversion. Schwartz served on the Technical Advisory Board for Washington’s Energy Strategy in 2012 and, in 2018, he received the Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics and Engineering Mentoring from the White House Office of Science and Technology Policy and the National Science Foundation. He is a Fellow of the Electrochemical Society and a board and executive committee member of the Washington CleanTech Alliance.


  • Ph.D., University of California, Davis, 1989
  • M.S., University of California, Davis, 1985
  • B.S., University of Minnesota, 1983

Previous appointments

  • Chair, UW Department of Chemical Engineering, 2009-2013
  • Associate Dean of Research, UW College of Engineering, 2005-2008
  • Postdoctoral Fellow, Lawrence Berkeley Laboratory, 1991

Research Statement

Learn more about the Schwartz Group's current work on electrochemical energy conversion and storage, as well as electrodeposition-based manufacturing, on their lab website

Honors & awards

  • Presidential Award for Excellence in Science, Mathematics, and Engineering Mentoring, OSTP/NSF, 2016
  • Oppenheimer Sciences & Energy Leadership Program, U.S. Department of Energy (Inaugural Awardee), 2016
  • Research Award of the Electrochemical Society Electrodeposition Division, 2015
  • Marsha Landolt Distinguished Graduate Mentor Award, University of Washington, 2015
  • Linford Award of the Electrochemical Society, 2010
  • The Electrochemical Society (2012)
  • Washington State Academy of Sciences (2016)