Faculty & Research

Emeritus Faculty

 

Name & Title

Research Areas

 

J. Ray Bowen

 

 

J. Ray Bowen

Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering and Dean Emeritus of Engineering

jrbowen@u.washington.edu

 

 

Combustion

 

 

E. James Davis

 

 

E. James Davis

Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering

chedavis@u.washington.edu

 

Aerosol physics and chemistry, and gas/particle chemical reactions; Atmospheric pollution; Bioaerosol detection via surface-enhanced Raman spectroscopy

 

Bruce Finlayson

 

 

Bruce A. Finlayson

Rehnberg Chair Professor Emeritus and Former Chairman of Chemical Engineering

finlayso@u.washington.edu

 

 

Computational fluid dynamics (CFD) calculations for ferrofluid motion and microfluidics

 

Finlayson Website

 

 

William J. Heideger

Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering

 

 

 

 

 

Kevin Hodgson

Professor Emeritus of Forest Resources and Chemical Engineering (Joint)

206-543-7346
hodgson@u.washington.edu

Surface and colloid science of papermaking; Secondary fiber recycling

 

Kevin Hodgson

 

 

 

Allan S. Hoffman

Professor Emeritus of Bioengineering and Chemical Engineering (Joint)

206-543-9423
hoffman@u.washington.edu

 

 

Intracellular drug delivery; Smart polymers & hydrogels; Smart polymer-biomolecule conjugates in drug delivery; Separations & diagnostics

 

Tom Horbett

 

 

Tom Horbett

Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering (Joint)

206-685-1392
horbett@u.washington.edu

 

 

Proteins at interfaces; Cell interactions with surfaces; Nonfouling surfaces

 

Horbett Website

 

 

 

 

Barbara Krieger-Brockett

Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering

krieger@u.washington.edu

 

 

Experimental kinetics, catalysis; Simulation of complex reacting systems including effects of transport rates; In situ diagnostics for reaction rate measurements

 

 

William McKean

 

 

William McKean

Professor Emeritus of Forest Resources and Chemical Engineering (Joint)

206-543-1626
wmckean@u.washington.edu

 

 

Pulp and paper engineering

 

Biofuels and Bioproducts Laboratory

 

 

Larry Ricker

 

 

N. Lawrence Ricker

Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering


ricker@uw.edu

 

 

Process control, process monitoring and fault detection, nuclear fuel reprocessing

 

 

Charles A. Sleicher

 

 

Charles A. Sleicher

Professor Emeritus and Past Chairman of Chemical Engineering (1961-1989)

charles@sleicher.net 

 

 

Fluid mechanics; Heat transfer

 

 

Gene L. Woodruff

 

 

Gene L. Woodruff

Professor Emeritus of Chemical Engineering, Adjunct Professor of Environmental Studies, and Dean Emeritus of the Graduate School

 

 

Nuclear Engineering