Knowledge and solutions for a changing world

Core Faculty

Name & Position Research Areas
Stuart B. Adler Stuart B. Adler

Associate Professor

206-543-2131
stuadler@uw.edu

Electrochemical Engr. and Kinetic, Transport, and Thermodynamic Properties of Solids
François Baneyx François Baneyx

Department Chair and Charles W.H. Matthaei Professor

206-685-7659
baneyx@uw.edu

Protein engineering, Nanobiotechnology, Molecular biomimetics
David A. C. Beck David A. C. Beck

Research Assistant Professor

206-221-0709
dacb@uw.edu

Systems biology of microbial cultures and communities, biophysical chemistry software, methods, and applications
John C. Berg John C. Berg

Rehnberg Chair Professor

206-543-2029
berg@cheme.washington.edu

Colloidal materials, Adhesion phenomena, Gels in multi-phase media
James Carothers James M. Carothers

Assistant Professor

206-221-4902
jcaroth@uw.edu

Fundamental and applied synthetic biology, RNA engineering, and genetic control system design
David G. Castner David G. Castner

Professor and Director, NESAC/BIO

206-543-8094
castner@uw.edu

Biomedical Surface Analysis, Surface Characterization & Modification, Biomaterials
Dr. Cole A. DeForest Cole A. DeForest

Assistant Professor

Phone: 206-543-5961
profcole@uw.edu

Biomaterials, 4D Stem Cell Biology, Protein Engineering, Bioorthogonal Chemistry, Drug Delivery, Polymer Networks

Hugh Hillhouse Hugh Hillhouse

Rehnberg Chair Professor

206-685-5257
h2@uw.edu

Photovoltaics, Solar Energy Conversion, Electrochemistry, Nanomaterials, Colloidal & Interfacial Phenomena
Vincent Holmberg

Assistant Professor

holmvc@uw.edu

 

(Joining in January 2015)
Bradley R. Holt Bradley R. Holt

Associate Professor & Associate Chair

206-543-0554
holt@cheme.washington.edu

Process Control and Optimization, Sensor Interpretation
Samson A. Jenekhe Samson A. Jenekhe

Boeing-Martin Professor

206-543-5525
jenekhe@uw.edu

Organic solar cells, organic electronics, graphene materials, nanomaterials and nanodevices, polymer science
Anthony Kim

Lecturer, Full-Time

206-543-8786
andykim@uw.edu

Teaches laboratory and lecture courses in Interfacial, Colloid and Polymer Science.
Shaoyi Jiang Shaoyi Jiang

Boeing-Roundhill Professor

206-616-6509
sjiang@uw.edu

Biomolecular interfaces, Biomaterials, Biosensors
Mary E. Lidstrom Mary E. Lidstrom

Jungers Chair Professor of Chemical Engineering and Microbiology

206-616-0804
lidstrom@uw.edu

Genomic and metabolic manipulation of bacteria, physiological heterogeneity of cells
R. Overney René Overney

Professor

206-543-4353
roverney@uw.edu

Transport properties of nano-constrained systems, Scanning probe tools
Jim Pfaendtner Jim Pfaendtner

Assistant Professor

206-616-8128
jpfaendt@uw.edu

Alternative energy, biomaterials, molecular biophysics, multiscale modeling and simulations
Dr. Lilo D. Pozzo Lilo D. Pozzo

Associate Professor

206-685-8536
dpozzo@uw.edu

Nanomaterials, biomaterials, colloids and polymers, rheology of self-assembled materials, neutron and x-ray scattering
Buddy Ratner Buddy Ratner

Darland Chair Professor of Chemical Engineering and Bioengineering

206-685-1005
ratner@uweb.engr.washington.edu

Biointerfaces, Tissue engineering and regenerative medicine, biomaterials, Healing
Dan Schwartz Daniel T. Schwartz

Boeing-Sutter Professor and Director, Clean Energy Institute

206-685-4815
dts@uw.edu

Electrochemical materials and interfaces, nano/microfabrication and energy technologies
Eric M. Stuve Eric M. Stuve

Professor

206-543-0156
stuve@uw.edu

Electrocatalysis, Fuel Cells, Electochemical Surface Science
Venkat Subramanian

WRF Associate Professor

206-543-2271
vsubram@uw.edu

Electrochemical and energy systems engineering, batteries and battery management system, model reformulation and model predictive control
Qiuming Yu Qiuming Yu

Research Associate Professor

206-543-4807
qyu@uw.edu

Nanomaterials, functional nanostructures, nanocharacterization, optical and plasmonic biosensors

 

 

 

Contact Us

Dept. of Chemical Engineering

phone: (206) 543-2250
fax: (206) 543-3778

dand@cheme.washington.edu